top of page
  • krang

MR. BUNGLE Formally Announce New Album, Premiere First Single

Mr. Bungle is getting ready to release their first new album in 21 years!

As we first learned back in March, the highly-influential, envelope-pushing group has re-recorded their 1986 demo, The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny, with their current line-up.

That line-up includes original members Mike Patton (Faith No More, vocals) Trey Spruance (Secret Chiefs 3, guitar), Trevor Dunn (Tomahawk, bass) along with Scott Ian (Anthrax, guitar) and Dave Lombardo (ex-Slayer, Suicidal Tendencies, etc., drums).

Now the group has announced that the re-recording, which they’re calling The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo, will be released on October 30 via Patton’s own Ipecac Recordings.

They’ve also released a single — the new version of the track “Raping Your Mind.”

Says Patton of the track:

“Recording THIS music with THESE guys was an enormous head-rush of virtuosity and surprises every day in the studio. Trey’s video game-esque solos, Scott’s bionic right hand and cyborg-like precision, Dave’s caveman-meets-Bobby Brady-like drum fills, Trevor’s solid foundation and laser-focus to detail. There is nothing sweeter than getting your ass kicked by true comrades… where everyone has a singular drive and mission.”

Adds Dunn:

“Recording this record felt like we were finally utilizing our Ph.Ds in Thrash Metal. All we had to do was go back to our original professors for some additional guidance and talk them into joining us. Turns out we were A+ students. We even went for extra credit by revisiting some tunes that we’d given up on back in the day. It was less like a trip of nostalgia and more like the refining of an original, worthy document. We were haunted for 35 years by the fact that this music wasn’t given it’s due respect. Now we can die.”

24 views0 comments
bottom of page